Advertise here

Ford Sierra Review

Overall Ratings

***** *****
***** *****
Overall
*****

Based upon average ratings provided by 85 members - add your own review

Showing reviews 61 to 80 of 88.


Preloved Visitor
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have owned my 1990 (early H) sapphire ghia 2.0i 8V DOHC for 6 years. I drive like a man possesed and in that time I have only had to replace the standard brakes, tyres, exhaust etc. I hammer this car on a daily basis and will eat almost anything that gets in the way. Change the oil every 5000 and spray wd40 over everything every time you lift the bonnet and it will last forever. Mine has now done 170,000 with no oil burning and 30mph driving like a demon. I previously owned a BMW 1997 5 series and it was gutless compared to the sierra. I owned the BMW and the sierra at the same time as the BM was a company car but much preferred the sierra for power and fun. Still standard running gear but I am in the midst of the mid life crisis and thnking of some mods. Best car I ever owned.


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

Was only 17 when i got my first 1.8lx(cvh) wow what a car. Alot faster than my mates poxy nova's and even beat my brothers xr3i. + more fun in the wet. Calmed down now with 2 kids but still own a sierra. Now it's a 1.8(cvh) chasseur 1 prev owner. Woman police officer. All old mot's f/s/h. MINT. Only done 55.000 miles. Alloy's mint tyres all round. What more can you want. Well cheap parts. Only cost me £385 as it was just before christmas and she felt sorry for me with 2 kids. Her hubbie had just bought her a brand new focus. She was that happy with the sierra she was dumb enough to give me 2 weeks warranty????? All these months later still driving as new!!!!


-
Never owned

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed August 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Just bought 2.3 diesel fitted new discs refurbished callipers inst power steering from scrappy. Swapped wheels for 205 alloys(mate found steering too heavy)£300 with 5 m tax/mot wot a bargin!


*****
Owned for 3 months.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed July 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have owned a 1.8 Sierra (H plate, CVH) for around 4 years now, never goes wrong although it did have a new engine at 88,000 - now at 140,000 and starting to use a little oil
Good on fuel and passed its yearly test with ease, I use it to tow a caravan, and sometimes my racecar - not good on hills but acceptable.


*****
Owned for 4 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed May 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

its never let us down


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.



Preloved Visitor
Reviewed May 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

on my sixth, currently a 91j sapphire 18 chasseur with cozzy rear spoiler and in dark metalic green paint.paid £400 for it, plans to make it look like a cozzy.i still have an xr2 f reg to play with though.


*****
Owned for 1 month.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed May 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Had an 83 1.6L as a first car in 1993. Brilliant bit of kit. 1600 Pinto a bit flat but totally bombproof and despite the insane thrashings of a 17 year-old, it had 187,000 miles on it when I sold it and it still ran well.

You can abuse these engines 24/7 and run them on any old cheap crap oil but it is vital to change the oil and filter (a 10 minute job) religiously every 3,000 miles. Do this, and the thing will literally run for ever. Add a tappet adjustment, air filter and plugs once a year and it will run smoothly too. Do the cambelt when it breaks (these engines easily survive this minor incident which destroys 99% of modern engines) or every three years if you don't like walking home. It's a 20 minute job and needs no special tools. The Pinto is a tough, simple bit of engineering which just works. If you like engines you can fix at home yourself with every day tools, they don't get any better.

The Sierra's interior even on basic ones like mine feels good with a real "cockpit" feel. Console curves towards the driver Beemer style, and the tunnel is high with short stubby gearlever. One of the best gearchange qualities of all cars as the lever drops straight into the tail of the gearbox. No linkage means no play.

Pukka RWD chassis is fun. Wet roundabouts are sideways playgrounds and gravel car parks are doughnut city! Soft suspension means lots of roll, but the chassis is beautifully balanced and very capable. Watch the 4 turn unassisted steering though as it makes getting opposite lock on sharp-ish a somewhat knackering affair. Easy to over-correct as well which gets a fish-tail motion going which inevitably ends in a hasty departure from the road.

Great car! Loved mine to bits and wouldn't hesitate to buy another, even 10 years down the road. This time it would be a 2.0 with power steering though.


*****
Owned for 4 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed April 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

hi can any one help me i have a sierra with a dohc EFI engine in and what to put an ohc in it can i do it and does it need to be injection. 13/4/03


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed April 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

i like this car because its an original mean machine. the car i own is a sierra 1.6L saloon a 2WD vehicle which gives direct power and Rapid response.


*****
Owned for 6 months.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed April 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Guys. Can you give me some numbers because i want to fine-tune Lucas Fuel Pump of my Ford Sierra 1.8 CLX Turbo Diesel but I don't have technical information. Do you know anything about the computer?


*****
Owned for 3 months.

Adverts Currently On Preloved


FULL HEAD GASKET SET...


FORD SIERRA


A SPECTACULAR FORD SIERRA...


CD CLOCKS...


15 X HAYNES CAR WORKSHOP...


HAYNES WORKSHOP MANUAL FOR...


HAYNES WORKSHOP MANUALS


FORD SIERRA MK2 HATCHBACK...

Place an ad here for free

» More ford sierra ads...


Preloved Visitor
Reviewed January 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

these cars rule u cant beat a good old 2.3 litre diesel sierra


*****
Owned for 3 months.
http://cool_lee_c@yahoo.com

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed November 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Anyone know where I can get some cheap gold alloy wheels to fit this car? I am also after a race exhaust!! Any tips?


*****
Owned for 1 month.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed October 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

i have a sierra saph 3.2 V8 twin T4 turbo(not standard) the car is lovely, inside, i gave it a full makeover and it is gorgous with 5 colour flip paint. it was easy to mod and not that expensive part from the paint, owned the car for four years, before the makeover and it only had service and brakes. good runner all round, bisides it whips porka's without a prob!


*****
Owned for 4 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed October 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I own a 1991 Sierra Saphire Ghia (2.0 Injection). When I say that I own it, it was my fathers and I've only just passed my test, now it's coming into my hands. We've owned this car from new and so you can imagine how long I've had to wait to get my hands on it. But let me give you my comparison. My parents buy a brand new car every three years, so far we have had, a top of the range Vauxhall Carlton (automatic), a ford escort, a ford fiesta, a BMW 3-series and now we have a mercedes c-class. So if a Beamer 10 years ago beats the sierra why do I preferre the Sierra out of all of these cars (including the new c-class?)


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed October 2002.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

"Now, throw in PAS, electric windows, rear wheel drive and 50/50 weight distribution: still want a Sierra??? "

HAHAH!

That's more or less going from what the advert says.

I've got news for you mate, old BMW's aren't like that at all.

Sierras are cheap, reliable and avaliable with all the add ons.


-
Never owned



Preloved Visitor
Reviewed June 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

once owned a 92 sierra gt,had 30 k on the clock when bought. went well, had the dohc engine. Anyway, got rid of it last year with 105 k miles, after all that time it never let me down once. Only ever replaced brakes, oil and sparkplugs (once). Now got a golf, which has cost me more in maintanance after 2 months!!


*****
Owned for 3 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed March 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

What A Brilliant car!Left untouched,they look decent.Customizing does not give it a boyracer look, but more elegance.Bit underpowered(1.6), but brilliantly reliable.Loads of Mods for the Pinto, or plenty of Bonnet space for A ROVER V8!Breakers yards and retailers are Heaving with Spares.Fuel economy poor.


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed March 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have a Sierra Sapphire 2.0 GLSi registered in 1988.
It has rusted quite badly but it is purely cosmetic and the car still runs without any problems.
As far as first goes (this is mine) it is cheap to buy and maintain, and parts are easy to find. I love it!


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed April 2001.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have 2.3 D 1987. It is an excelent
car. I just change the oil and once a
time I change a rear brake's cylinder.
I tried it on maximum speed 145km/h


*****
Never owned

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed April 2001.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I had a 1.6 laser and it was
comfortable but with no power and more
vibration than torque i would never buy
less than a 2.0litre ever again.


*****
Never owned

Showing reviews 61 to 80 of 88.

 

Important Note

All ratings and reviews are submitted by visitors to this web site, and represent their own personal opinion. They do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Preloved.

You use this information at your own risk. Preloved can not be held responsible for any damages or loss resulting from the use of this site. Please see our Terms and Conditions for more details.