Advertise here

BMW K75S Review

BMW K75S

Overall Ratings

***** *****
***** *****
Overall
*****

Based upon average ratings provided by 19 members - add your own review

Showing reviews 1 to 19 of 19.


Kelvin
Reviewed June 2005.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I just sold mine after 2 years of ownership, and now regretting it.
I agree the bike is over weight and under powered in some situations, but a 300-mile trip in heavy rain, with the heated grips; a tractable turbine smooth engine made the journey much less arduous than many other bikes I've owned.
I was returning 55mpg, able to ride in comfort for more than 2 hours. I've owed K100Rs, R100s and R100Rs, and apart from the less protective fairing it was the nicest handling of the lot
(Not to say it was brilliant compared to the VFR750 I owned, it was inferior by a large margin). However it far more stable on motorway and much less effected by side winds, the power delivery was very linear, which meant it was comfortable for pillions, although this could make the bike feel bland on occasions
Gearbox is notchy, like all BM's, but there was enough torque to in engine reduce the number gear changes when feeling lazy.
I bought mine for £1300 with 43K miles in good mechanical condition and reasonable cosmetic condition.
I want another bike later on in the year, but I don't want to spend more than £1600.
When you see up what you can buy in that budget the BMW 75 is by far fantastic value.
There are few older bikes that still offer full spares back up from BMW spares specialist.
Solid, reliable, good build quality, and metals that don't corrode at the first sight of a wet road.
If I can find a late bright red 75S with good condition panniers and ABS I would have another, itÂ’s a great all rounder but I have to admit I would like a second bike to go with it that was lightweight and with exciteing handling for shorter distances.


*****
Never owned

Brent
Reviewed September 2008.


[enlarge]

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

The K75S ABS with Bags that I now have as my daily, favorite, ride has relegated my Bandit and CBR Hurricane to the back of the garage.
My K75 has 40,000 miles and I am the third owner, it originally was a US model so has miles not kms. Well maintained, professionally repainted from black to candy apple red that matches the stock red but is 10 times deeper and brilliant in the sun.

I am a long time rider and a year round rider here on Vancouver Island and the more I ride the BMW the more I respect the thinking that went into it's design.

Not the fastest (for sure) not the quickest around corners BUT when I commute 170 miles a day I find that the miles just slip by and I get there just as fast. Love the quiet and reliability compared to my Harleys that have owned in the past.

Good gas mileage at 120 KPM, 50 mpg or so. I put Metzler Lazertec's on and really sharpened up the steering especially in the wet when matched to the Progressive suspension.

Easy to work on, changed all oils to full synthetic.
Tried the taller windshield but made no appreciable difference in the wind noise to my 6'1" frame but I can live with it. Many other bikes are noisy and buffetting so why worry.

One thing is that people sure like the bike and are always coming up to talk BMW K series.

Plan on keeping this one and selling the other 2 bikes.

Keep the wind in your face, ride on.


build quality, parts availabilty, ride, reliability, centre stand ease of use, bags, ABS, starting
stock windshield noise, having to lube the driveshaft
*****
Reviewing a 1992 model.
K75 S ABS with factory bags
Owned for 1 year.

Phil
Reviewed July 2008.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I bought a 750 brick two years ago. I had not ridden one before. I was actually searching for another boxer airhead (my R65 is overseas) but could not find one in decent shape with hard ccases and needed immediate commuter transport (70 miles per day, about 40% of which is on an Interstate Highway, the rest on State and County roads). I took a gamble on an extremely well presented 1991 K75 sport with ABS, hard cases and heated grips. A larger windshield (Aeroflow), Works rear shock, floating Spiegler discs on the front and twin auxiliary driving lights (Motolites) were the major modifications made by the two previous owners. The bike had 100,000 miles on the clock and I paid $4,000 cash for it and rode it 250 miles home on the day of purchase. It ran like a new bike and continues to do so after the 10,000 miles I have put on it. To compensate for the comparatively high weight and centre-of-gravity, and to enable me to get both heels on the ground when stopped (I'm five foot seven), my local BMW guru lowered the bike one-and-three-quarter inches (the Works factory in California reconditioned the shock and shortened it, and my mechanic lowered the triple clamps down the front suspension tubes after I installed bar-backs). This improved handling in second and third gear corners. I am completely satisfied with the bike. It took some time to get used to the engine. The brakes are sensitive and extremely effective, after becoming accustomed to the pulsation produced by the action of the ABS. They have helped me avoid deer and crazy car antics. I have ridden this machine through some awful weather without anxiety. I expect to be using it as my main commuter for the remainder of my working career (I am currently 57). I have no doubts that it will do another 100,000 miles. All this, and the bike is stunningly beautiful to boot! I have even had car drivers compliment the bike while waiting for the lights to change.


torque, power, handling, smoothness, low maintenance, appearance
weight, high centre-of-gravity and engine heat compared to airhead boxers
*****
Reviewing a 1991 model.
BMW K75SA
Owned for 2 years.

JimVonBaden
Reviewed February 2004.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

In the US the K75S is now a kind of collectors item. Incredibly reliable, and still somewhat reasonably priced. It allows us poor guys to get in on the BMW Mystique and fun! Great bike, easy to ride, and will run forever.

The bad parts are few, but important. Down shifting can sometimes be difficult, and going from neutral to 1st at a light frustrating! Otherwise, it works great for me!


*****
Owned for 1 year.

C. Jones
Reviewed January 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have a 1992 K75 Standard with ABS. It had very low mileage when bought, but quickly blew its rear shock, which I replaced with a cheaper and (I'm told) better unit from Progressive Suspension.

Overall build quality is excellent; component quality (suspension aside) is first class. I use this bike as a daily commuter and for longer trips - it does everything well in my view. Cold, wet starts are a snap and the engine is a diamond.

I bought it for about $3800 US ($5600 CDN) with with 10,000 miles on it and with a non-functioning ABS brain. I found a second-hand brain for $500 US (don't snicker, they're almost 3 grand CDN new) and away I went.

These problems aside, the bike is perfect for me. Smooth, reliable, powerful enough but not insane. It sounds fantastic, and looks the business; unpretentious and understated styling.

The hard cases are awesome, and the left one will take either my XL Arai or Nolan full face helmets without difficulty (people who complain they can't fit their lid in, I think, have only tried it in the right case, which is smaller due to the assymetric swingarm). Like a previous writer, I have never had to use the ABS, but live in a wet climate and just knowing it is there makes me get on the brakes harder and stop sooner than I would if I was afraid of slip-sliding-away. I think its a terrific safety feature, even if it is never used.

Everything you read about the forks is true; I've opted for progressive springs and heavier oil to fight the dive bomber effect.


*****
Owned for 3 months.



Peter R
Reviewed November 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have a 1988 K75C, Ihave owned a K75S, K75 with Boxer RS Fairing, & 2C Models . I Have had this one for 9 years & has only now done 21,000 miles.I have been all over Europe in the past on BMW's , always 2 up with panniers & tankbag.The bike may not be the fastest or best handling bike around, but you won't find a more competent or more reliable bike anywhere. I have never ever had a breakdown of any type ,not even a puncture, I am currently on Bridgstone Tyres, & get about 7000 miles from them, & 60 mpg however ridden. You can jump onto my bike , knowing it will start however long it has been left, you can go to work on it, or go to Switzerland & know it will get you there.I cannot praise them highly enough!!.


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

nolabar10der
Reviewed August 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

After about seven years with varying boxers, I finally bought a used K75S.
Fit, finish, and reliability are almost not worth mentioning for fear of redundancy. It's a BMW, people. Arguably the most well-engineered (functionally) and reliable machines on the road.
Performance is a bit weak, and yes, it does weigh in on the tubby side for a 750, but if I were in the market for, say, a GSXR-750, I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT ONE. Accept this machine for what it is...a quick, well-mannered, comfortable and stone-trustworthy motorcycle.
Definitely one of the more handsome bikes BMW put out in the eighties and early nineties. Especially the Cardinal Red / blacked-out motor and wheels treatment.
No buzz or vibration, almost to the point of boredom. The counterbalancer works well here, allowing none of the mild electric shock-like feeling coming through the bars and pegs of every K100 I've ever ridden in swap.

I knew the bike was lacking slightly in performance before I bought it. But it's only lacking if you just stepped off your buddy's V-Max. The K75S is what it is, and it does many things competently, which is better than having one purpose-built bike (for those of us who can't afford TWO motorcycles).


*****
Owned for 1 month.

NIGEL
Reviewed July 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I've had my K75S for nearly two years now and i've still got mixed views about it.Reliable -yes. Performance -adequate.Heavy -ridiculously! ABS -waste of time. I can't ever remember a situation where it has cut in which is remarkable when one considers the inadequacy of the brakes! Also, it seems to me that as soon as the rear tyre is ever so slightly rounded the famed handling goes all to pot anyway. Finally, why should a bike this expensive pop and bang so much on the overrun? This is a real problem where I live in rural Cornwall with so many horse riders around! This irksome problem can be reduced but not eliminated entirely by good balancing of the injectors and ensuring the little rubber caps are not split or torn. At 41000 miles the suspension is shot -the back has been replaced with a Hagon shock but no aftermarket springs are available for the front -each leg is different apparently! Personally I don't think the design has been a success -after all the chassis and engine was designed for four cylinders and merely lopping off one cylinder may have produced a much smoother engine but it isn't as good as the K100 for power and torque fully laden with wife and full panniers in tow!
Compensation in the form of very cheap insurance (BM's own),durability and ease of servicing don't compensate for poor handling as soon as the back tyre is barely worn, excess weight ( I am thinking of having the ABS surgically removed -has anyone tried it already?)
and the constant threat of backfires if the state of tune isn't clinically perfect. BMW have made some good bikes but this isn't one of them -Yamaha's 600 Diversion may not have the same quality finish but seems to do the same thing with a lot less bulk and with much better brakes without any ABS!


*****
Owned for 2 years.

Nick
Reviewed November 1999.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

If your new to biking and not sure whether to remortgage the house to buy the latest sexiest and fastest bike around (but are a bit worried that you'll drop it, crash it or smash it or yourself within the first few weeks), then don't. There are so many ways to wipe off so much value off your new bike when you first have it that if you knew all of them, you'd never contemplate buying a new one ever. With a used BMW K75s you get a solid bike that needs next to no maintenance (no silly chain thingies to retension and oil every week) and will run on and on practically for ever. Top speed being 125mph, 0-60 about 5 seconds; there aren't many performance cars around that can do a lot better. Low down torque means you'll very often pull away quicker than many so-called sports bikes. Usually giving around 45 MPG the economy is better than many cars. Buy one - you won't regret it. Expect to pay £1500-£2500 for a bike between 5-10 years old. Age and mileage is not important with BMWs - if it looks good, sounds good and rides good, then thats what you want!

Nick [Log in to view email]


*****
Owned for 3 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I own an 88 K75S, and love it. I actually found one last year with only 14,600 miles on it. For a quarter of what some of my friends have spent for their bikes. When we are fueling up or stopping for a bite to eat, my bike never fails to draw a crowd young and old. I have to say - face it, nothing says style like a red K75S.

Gas mileage - great, reliable - yes, power - more than most will dare to use. I would not hesitate to buy one, they are a good value for your riding dollar.


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Adverts Currently On Preloved


BMW K75 NON ABS FRONT END


BMW K75

Place an ad here for free

» More bmw k75s ads...


Preloved Visitor
Reviewed July 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Bought my 1991 K75s two years ago. Odd thing is that I didn't go looking for a k-bike - I really wanted an R80 or R100 but could only finds examples that needed lots of work. Looked at the K75s out of curiousity and "wow" what a beautiful bike!
Make a longer story short, purchased it for $5k (Canadian). I have to say that this bike takes time to grow on you - none of the character of the older R bikes (20 years ago I had a R75/5 which I loved). But having just returned from another week tour of the province (British Columbia) the strengths of this bike continue to make me respect it a great deal.
In 6 days riding it did not skip a beat. High speed touring on the freeway at 130-150 kph she is steady as a rock and still lots of oomph! This is a bike showing 110,000 on the odeometer and original. It consumes no oil and gets about 55-60 mpg.
Through the twisty two-lane highways our province is blessed with - as predictable and forgiving as you could as for.
All in all a very nice bike that seems to be as reliable as they come.
Great bike.


*****
Owned for 2 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed May 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I purchased my 92 K75S in 1997 with 6400 miles. It has been coast to coast and never left me stranded. Looks great and is very practical. Corbin seat is great for my 5'-7" but could use more padding after a couple of hundred miles..

Tires last about 10K but handling gets shaky in curves after 6K..


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed February 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I HAVE A 89 K75C WITH R100RS FAIRING,BMW PANNIERS AND A TOP BOX THAT COULD CARRY A TON OF SAND(ITS A BIG TOP BOX)WHAT I PAID FOR THE BIKE DEFIES BELIEF(ITS HAD MORE OWNERS THAN A BARRET HOUSE)BUT WHEN YOU GO OUT INTO THE FREEZING SCOTTISH WEATHER THE HEATED HANDGRIPS MAKE THE DIFFERANCE,BUT WHAT A JOY TO BE SITTING AT 50-60MPH ON THE M8 AND A BMW 325I OWNER THINKS YOU HAVE SOMETHING IN COMMON,AS YOU RIDE INTO THE DISTANCE,BEFORE HE CAN READ YOUR REG PLATE


*****
Owned for 3 months.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed January 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

my BM is a K75s with ABS ('93)and I have read the various comments with much interest...it's always nice to compare experiences!
I suffered from the effects of the weak Showa front end as well, especially as both my disks were somewhat warped, making the front brake almost unusable for a while.....! I have just replaced one disk (they are not cheap, especially the one with the sensor ring on it..), put in new fork springs and changed to SAE10 oil.
Things are a lot better now anyway.

The ABS is good to have, I have tested it several times (out of some weird curiosity I guess..), even on roads totally covered with ice......I could never make the bike skid at all!(don't ever try it in corners though!) I can also make the (mark1) ABS 'kick in' on dry roads by pulling in the front brake as hard and suddenly as physically possible, the effect is in that case quite dramatic...it feels like you're riding a bronco instead of a bike...!Quite fun, but probably not the quickest way to stop...

The K is super-reliable, economical and quite forgiving to ride as it's definitely not the fastest kid on the block..

It does not at all like squarish or partly-worn tyres though and the wind noise level is very high even when wearing earplugs. The seat and riding position are not too comfortable for me, but I guess a lot depends on each individual's size/weight.

I'm still not sure if I really like the looks of the BM, it's definitely different from the rest though and a great every-day bike.


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed September 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

This motorcycle has performed flawlessly for 115,000 miles, never left me stranded,and has been ridden in all of the lower 48 United States. Dealer network is great!


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.



Preloved Visitor
Reviewed January 2002.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Had my '91 S for the last 3 years - best bike I've ever had. Cost me £2400 to buy - just had it revalued at £2500 -which was nice......

Yeah, it's heavy, but you get used to it. Most importantly, it fits my 6'3" frame like a glove.

Performance-wise, it'll overtake faster than a 600 Bandit and just about keep up with a 900 Trident unless an incline is involved. Sports bike leave it for dead in a straight line as well as twisties, but I don't care 'cos it's fast enough for me. Also, I like the turbine whine when you give it throttle and the occassional backfires when you ease off. That triple engine is superb.

Reliability - excellent, only time it let me down was my own fault having misaligned the fuel injectors when fitting a fuel rail cover. God, these things are sensitive.....

Parts seem to be no problem, although I've not needed many. Mine was a very clean California bike which seems to have lived it's life on the freeways so it looks the bomb - especially in red.
It has the Corbin custom seat - now recovered with non-porous fabric - and I've put on a higher screen which makes quite a difference. Might go down the C-bar route at some point in the future. Have also added a few odds and ends to make it cope with the Scottish winters.

Just a pity they didn't make a K90S with a bit more oomph.


*****
Owned for 3 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed May 2001.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

OK, lets be truthful here, K75's are
great bikes. But they are underspowered
and overweight. I own an '88 that I have
been riding everyday for years, but I
also own and ride an 1988 Ducati F1
750cc. The K75S doen't have much low-
end, but it has enough to be fun to ride.
Where it excells is the over 6 grand on
the tach zone (but it is NOT sport-bike
fast there either). As for beating other
sports bikes off the line..you must be
kidding yourself. Mine has never broken,
runs flawlessly always and is my favorite
all-arounder for everyday riding. First
timers beware, the K75S is quite top
heavy and if you do not use the side
stand and go directly to the center the
bike is quite tippy. Don't get me wrong,
I love mine and have owned 3 other
beemers before this one, but sport-bike
it's not!


*****
Owned for 3 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed January 2001.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Has to be one of the best values in
motorcycling today. I have owned a 87
K75S for the last 5 years. It owes me
nothing and it still looks like new,
runs longer than I can and I paid 4400
five years ago. Now I know people who
lose that much the day they roll their
new ride out the front door of the
dealership. Look for me at Daytona
2001 Red with my Isle of Mann sticker
on the back. Living it up for less
than a grand a year!!


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed May 2000.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Mine is a 1988 K75S. I paid 3200 dollars in 1999. Lots of fun, great handling, not fussy at all, very reliable, very little vibration. Suspension is kind of stiff, stock seat hurts after an hour, stock bars were too low, I replaced them with C bars. Windshield was noisy, replaced with Parabellum upper.


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Showing reviews 1 to 19 of 19.

 

Important Note

All ratings and reviews are submitted by visitors to this web site, and represent their own personal opinion. They do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Preloved.

You use this information at your own risk. Preloved can not be held responsible for any damages or loss resulting from the use of this site. Please see our Terms and Conditions for more details.