Advertise here

Ford Sierra Review

Overall Ratings

***** *****
***** *****
Overall
*****

Based upon average ratings provided by 85 members - add your own review

Showing reviews 1 to 20 of 88.


Les
Reviewed January 2008.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I had the Saffire saloon with 1.8 CFH engine from almost new in 1991. 1 electrical fault which Fords new about and corrected. Then it ran for years without any trouble until 2004 when the needle bearing at the rear end of the crankshaft broke up and locked the engine and gearbox together bypassing the clutch. While I was sorting this out I completely cleaned & rebuilt the engine and fitted a new clutch complete, even thouth the engine work was not really necessary it seemed a good idea at the time. 2004 I sold the car to my Sister/Brother in law, still passing mot's & with only minimal problems less than expected with vehicles 16 years old and heading towards 150,000miles.


Built to last, Rear wheel drive, Resembles the Cortinas.
Without ABS they do tend to skid to a halt.
*****
Reviewing a 1990 model.
1.8 CFH Saffire Saloon
Owned for more than 5 years.

TurboMouse
Reviewed February 2007.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Hi! I'm from JHB, SOUTH AFRICA. I own a 1990 Ford Sapphire 3.0 GLX. Previously i owned a VW Golf2 2.0 16v with a 307kw (at wheels) conversion. Now its time for a new project. I am looking at increasing performance. Any suggestions regarding carburation, cams etc? Or any other mods? Or links to places where I can acquire this info.


*****
Owned for 1 year.

cobby
Reviewed September 2004.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

i own a sierra sapphire azura (last ever built)and this is the best ive ever had.to be honest i would of brought a sapphire cosworth but with them knocking on a bit you dont really know what your buying but with this car i did -remained in the family. its a 1.8 cfi cvh and the body work is mint cond with the original alloys. the engines in need of a recon but the car will be soon a cossie look a like. sierras rule. happy motoring:)


*****
Owned for 1 year.

cossy sie
Reviewed January 2004.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

i own a 1988 rwd saff cossie.it's running 380 bhp.green injector's rs500 intercooler,3 bar map sensor,bayjoo chip.it's crystal blue.and i've owned rs fiesta,and a escort turbo.but this one really put's a smile on my face. simon leeds....


*****
Owned for 1 year.

ChrisB
Reviewed December 2003.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

I've been offered a 1993 Sierra 1.8 diesel for £100 by a mate, and I know its a great old reliable runner. (My old Rover 218 has just been totalled by someone who didnt see the red light.....)

Only problem is the locks - appararantly they're badly worn. Anyone know of how much I might have to pay, if they're easy to find, etc etc?? Thanks for any help!


-
Never owned



Scott
Reviewed December 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Just brought a '92 J Red GLS DOHC hatch, great car, no rust, brought it for £495 with 95k on the clock, goes like stink can play sideways with ease in the wet, little more effort needed in the dry :). It needs a service and thats about it really, good fun cheap car!


*****
Owned for 1 month.

Snarf
Reviewed December 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have owned two sierra's. The first one I owned was a monster of a beast. It was the sierra XR6 which I owned in South Africa it had the good old essex engine in it which was rebored to a 3.4.
The fuel consumption was terrible but man was it a hatch eater. When I sold the car there where tears comming out of my eyes. Now I own a 1.6 lazer a real let down to the previous but it has some advantages, really good fuel cosumption and still the comfortable ride as before. I love my sierra's and am now on the lookout for a 2.9 XR 4x4.

And let us not forget the monster that South Africa brought out, The good The bad the XR8.

Sierra's are the best!!!!!!!!!1


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

clare
Reviewed December 2003.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

I have an xr4x4i 2.9 V6 and the fuel consumption had gone up, setting the tappets sorted that out, if its not that then try checking the Timing and Co2 levels....Clare


-
Owned for 3 years.

clare
Reviewed December 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

My 2.9 V6 Sierra was the same until I had the tappets checked, if it is not that then it is worth having the timing and Co2 checked...Clare


*****
Owned for 2 years.

minimadmotorman
Reviewed November 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I Have owned my sierra for the last 3 years i bought her for £250 with 130,000 on the clock ran her for 6 months till MOT then cost about £250 to go thru which consisted of 2 bottom arms and a full set of alloys with brand new tyres.

I have recently taken her off from her duty as a taxi which she has been doing for the last 2 1/2 years. she now has 503,000 miles on the clock with the original 2.3D engine in place and running sweet.

In her time as a taxi she has needed the following, 1 gearbox, 1 clutch, 2 new brake calipers, 4 rear wheel cylinders, 8 bottom arms, 1 steering rack + the regular wear and tear items (tyres, disc's, pads, shoes etc)and a lot of tlc.

anyone else out there with an example as travelled as mine. (especially with the original engine)

The sierra was a great car when it came out and can still hold its own today.

FANTASTIC


*****
Owned for 3 years.
http://www.kinspeed.com

Adverts Currently On Preloved


CANOPY LIGHT 45CM EXO TERRA


BIRTHDAY PARTY IDEAS


NEST OF TABLES


EXO TERRA 60CM COMPACT...


BEAUTIFUL LONG COAT...


BISCUIT TIN


REPTILES AVAILABLE FOR...


PAINTING

Place an ad here for free

» More second hand ads...


alan345
Reviewed November 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

im a sierra owner and as daft as it sounds im at odds with changing the fuel filter can someone give me some advise in the ins and outs on changing one please thanks.
alan.


*****
Owned for 3 years.

Mark
Reviewed November 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I've always had Sierras since I passed my test 5 years ago always looking for a
two litre in good nick but no joy.I
currently have a J-Plate 1.8 GLX Auto.
The woman I bought the car from would
not part with it at first, only
doing so when her hubby bought her a new Focus.The car is immaculate, easily
the best I've had.Don't let the auto
put you off either,it's a joy and not that slow either.No oil burning at 99000 miles.This one has power steering fitted(honestly!)Don't buy one without it.No chick magnet but well worth the £900 I paid 3 yrs ago FFSH.

Just one problem at moment,does anyone
know why I would have to replace the ignition coil twice in 6 months?Any help greatly appreciated.


*****
Owned for 3 years.
fixafordcar

Unknown
Reviewed October 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I BOUGHT A RED SAPPHIRE 2.3DL FOR £150 BACK IN 1999 AND I HAD IT FOR 3 MONTHS OR SO, DID OVER 3000 MILES & LOVED THE CAR AND WISH ID NEVER SOLD IT! IT GAVE OUT HEALTHY REEK WHEN FIRST STARTED IN THE MORNING, SPAT OIL ALL OVER THE PLACE AND NEVER BROKE DOWN. IN THE END IT USED 5 LITRES OF OIL A WEEK SO I TOOK IT TO THE AUCTIONS & GOT £130.
RIP G151WAS (UNLESS URE STILL AROUND?!)


*****
Owned for 3 months.

KMR
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

Hi, I have just bought a Sierra, Ghia and need to find the cooling fans, fuse and relay. Can anyone help?


-
Owned for 1 month.

Del
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Like Taff I own a sierra 1.8 estate. Use it for same purpose except towing. Brilliant reliable car starts first time and goes like a rocket.But alas some idiot in a POLO crashed into 2 walls along side the drive.The walls and the POLO destroyed the front end near side and the door.POLO squashed.Mine I drove her home rattling like hell. When the insurance is clear ill get another one. Cheap but strong and reliable


*****
Owned for 4 years.



VINCE
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

FAO Bobby C. If your happy driving a
piece of Jap c.....p that's up to you.
But you will never know the feeling of
well being that owning and driving a
Chasseur brings. Hunter by name
...Hunter by nature!


-
Never owned

VINCE
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I currently have a J reg !.8 Chasseur
estate. What a car! Bags of room, no
fuss or frills-does exactly what it says
on the tin!! Years of happy cheap
motoring. Thankyou Ford and up
yours all the mickey takers.


*****
Owned for 4 years.

mcd
Reviewed July 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

currently own two sierra sapphires 2 ltr gls and a 2ltr glsi what brilliant cars picked both up for less than 500 quid both with 70k on the clock ienjoy using these cars so much i have just got hold of a sierra gt 2ltr what power this car has am not sure of the history of the gt cars can anyone help with some info


*****
Never owned

fusion
Reviewed July 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

i own a sierra sapphy 1.8lx (h reg),
had it for free, as it needed a clutch...it now stands me £25!! i am putting a set of xr4x4 alloys on it this week and as soon as me m8 puts a 2.9cossie lump in his, i will be going to scrappy for a granny 2.9 rwd box, and that spare 2.9 will be in this!! fink a set of cossie front brakes and a rear disc axle wil be in order....
might leave the 1.8lx badging on it though.....:)


*****
Owned for 3 months.

miffy
Reviewed June 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Bought a J reg 1.8 Chasseur from auction 2 years ago,cost £220.it's flown through 2 mot's, never let me down and all its cost me is tyres and oil changes.
I took a bit of stick from my mates at the time of purchase,but theres been a few late night phone calls asking me if i can pack em up " cos there cars broken down " (all of em on finance)
So to all you doubters and sceptics....UP YOURS


*****
Owned for 2 years.

Showing reviews 1 to 20 of 88.

 

Important Note

All ratings and reviews are submitted by visitors to this web site, and represent their own personal opinion. They do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Preloved.

You use this information at your own risk. Preloved can not be held responsible for any damages or loss resulting from the use of this site. Please see our Terms and Conditions for more details.