Advertise here

Mercedes 200-300 W124 Series (1985 to ) Review

Overall Ratings

***** *****
***** *****
Overall
*****

Based upon average ratings provided by 41 members - add your own review

Showing reviews 1 to 20 of 40.


BIGCAR1
Reviewed March 2011.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have just bought a 1995 Mreg E200 estate i think it is the elegance model as it has lots of good stuff E/W C/Locking E/Sun roof E/Mirrors walnut centre consul ETC.
I absolutly love the old girl she has done 175500 now but looks and drives extremely well.As 7 seaters go this i the most beautiful thing ive seen.
Havent worked out how economical or not it is yet but when i get her serviced she should go much better.

PS anyone know where i can get headlight lenses cheap please.


DRIVE, GADGETS,PRACTICALITY
PRICE OF PARTS AND OTHER COSTS
*****
Reviewing a 1995 model.
Owned for 1 month.

panzer
Reviewed February 2009.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Undoubtededly, after 8 years, the best value for money in 7 - seater motoring. Combine this with the unique advantage of advice through the MBOA w124 forum, these cars are awsome. I will buy again, and again.


Can buy as new
Finding mechanics who value an aging car
*****
Reviewing a 1992 model.
E200 7-seater estate
Owned for more than 5 years.

Maineman9
Reviewed January 2009.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I`ve owned an M registered E220 coupe since 2002, which I bought for £13,000 with 26,000 miles on the clock from a client and friend. It has just had it`s 144,000 mile service as we speak. I average 16,000 miles a year of both motorway and local road driving. It is a lovely imperial red piece of quality, the like of which you can`t get these days. My friends have more modern E and S class models, some have much older veteran models (I`m an owners club member) but this is just a car that makes you stand out. When polished and gleaming it is the dogs *******. It will go and go, sit at whatever speed you want and has a choice of economy or normal (kickdown) gearbox modes. Hell, it even hands you your seatbelt when you get in. I`d had up to 30 cars in 30 years until this one. I can drive whatever I want, new or old, but I choose to grow old with this car in my possession. I use a specialist to service it at the prescribed intervals and the car has a full MB main dealer or specialist service history and never stint on anything from tyres to exhaust to anything. This car is starting to be considered as an appreciating classic and is the other woman in my life. Buy a good one now and invest in keeping it that way and you will have a friend that will probably last you all of your life!


Build Quality, Style, solidity, uncomplicated, totally reliable.
Not the cheapest car for servicing, but well worth doing properly.
*****
Reviewing a 1994 model.
E220 4 speed switchable with black sportscheck interior, electric roof, 6 CD radio cassette with 8 hole alloys
Owned for more than 5 years.

cek
Reviewed January 2008.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

This is one of the best cars you can buy. Mercedes does not make cars like this anymore. After the year 1995 mercedes lost it. They build cars that are beutifull but are not made to last. If you can find a w124 that has low miles and has been taken care of, you have found a great car. I can gaurentee you that the w124 is better than most new cars. Especially if it is deisel. Also keep in misd that deisel vehicles can run on vegitable oil.


*****
Reviewing a 1992 model.
200te
Owned for 1 year.
http://www.w124.co.uk/about.html

monty
Reviewed August 2006.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Hi all, I owned a 230 TE, 1988, for 2 yrs. Cost virtually nothing and ran brilliantly on a budget. Put 40k on, up to 160k when I sold it. Superb build quality, unmatched overall driving experience - I absolutely swear by W124's.
Upgraded to a 1993 280E saloon. Full cream leather interior/walnut/air con/loaded with extras. Only 90k on clock so far, every service stamp etc, hardly a blemish on the bodywork. Former Merc signature car, this 6 cylinder version is the perfect Merc. MPG impressive, and she can fairly pick her skirts up if pushed. Whole car is tight as a new car, and I'm not just saying that. Mercedes make the best cars money can buy, there is no argument. No matter the budget, I would advise anybody to pick up a W124 to suit - but if you can push the boat out a little, go for one of these, the driving experience is superb and the extra cylinders make a special drive just a little bit more so. Take your time, learn about the model, pick well!


*****
Owned for 3 years.



Steve
Reviewed March 2006.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have owned my 1994 E220 saloon for 3 years now. I have covered 60,000 miles with 150,000 now on the clock. She has never missed a beat. I have only done normal services, replaced both front window regulators, an exhaust back box and just now the heater blower motor has packed up. I tow a caravan regularly with it. Parts are a bit pricey, but you have to expect that, but it doesn't need that many, so averages out. Very good drive, very reliable, not too bad on fuel. Generally a brilliant car.


*****
Owned for 3 years.

vikste
Reviewed December 2005.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

E220 Estate 1995. Up to 123,000 now and running Ok (after a head gasket at 103,000). To drive the car just feels different - anything else feels "fake" and unsubstantial compared ot the wagan. Wife originally hated the idea of this as the runaround - too big, too difficult to park... now I cant get her out of it!

Current problem is a tendency to throw oil out of the gearbox onto the cat if you run above 70mph for any time so we make smoke along the motorways... any ideas? Strangely this happened after the head gasket repair!!

Its hard to think of anything to replace the car with... modern MB is not as well engineered and is v. expensive, Audis dont turn or look the same and lack the general "waft" of the Merc. Hopefully this is a choice I wont have to make for a while!


*****
Owned for 2 years.

john
Reviewed July 2005.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

hi, i own a e200 w124 4 door saloon, auto 16v 1995, jst writing to say what a brilliant car this has been. ive done only 58,000 miles in this car from new and suppose it will go on for another 300,000 or so. bodywork is mint as is the interior. had it serviced at mercedes up till last service, bills got a bit high for a routine service now go to G+N AUTO CO at Haslingsden Lancs. Know more there than any merc dealership and a fraction of the price. Might sell the car soon soon if anybody is interested drop me a line [Log in to view email] These cars will interest anybody who is over 6ft 4 ins , yes you can spread your legs out when driving without crushing the person behind u. love it.


*****
Owned for 2 years.

warren
Reviewed January 2005.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I own a W124 200te estate, it has now done 204,000 miles and she runs like a dream, I keep it serviced and maintained at Medway Mercedes on the A2 in Rainham and apart from a head gasket replacement last year at 180,000 miles it has never let me down, it is comfortable, solid and lovely to drive, I also own a Volvo 960 cd 24v 3.0 and even with all its extras it is not a patch on the merc, does anyoe know if there are any 300te`s available out there


*****
Owned for 4 years.

Demarest
Reviewed July 2004.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Got a G-reg, 1989, 230ce, auto, 4 - speed

Only problems was driver and passanger electronic windows motor burnt out a few months ago, and the fan belt sensor had to be changed last year. Realible car. good accelaration.
As all you people asking about the rev counter only reaching 4000RPM, this is normal because the engine is known as a long stroke, only capable of reching 4000RPM. helps with the noise level and econimey i think. Also got for doing high speed a lower revs (less engine wear)
Does anybody know there approximate value?


*****
Owned for more than 5 years.

Adverts Currently On Preloved


STUNNING BLACK BRAHMA COCK...


MINI LOP DOE


TWIN SILVERCROSS DOLLS PRAM


VINTAGE GOLD BEAD BRACELET


BARNTOP SILVER REG URSJAI


(NEW) IKEA UNG DRILL CREAM...


SHIH TZU PUPPIES FOR SALE


ROCKING SHEEP

Place an ad here for free

» More second hand ads...


Jeremy
Reviewed March 2004.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Just bought a 1988 300TE. What a car, fantatic motorway cruiser to let the reps know what engine size really is! For parts use eurocarparts.com or gsfcarparts.com very good for avialability and remarkably good value. Can anyone advise on average idile engine revs when stopped in drive gear? Just over 500 sound right or to little? Thankyou Jeremy


*****
Owned for 1 month.
http://www.eurocarparts.com

Diafolcymru
Reviewed January 2004.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

THIS 86`W124 230E IS MY THIRD BENZ AND DEFINATELY THE BEST.IT HAS ONLY COVERED A WARRANTED 93K WITH FSH AND ONLY COST ME £450 WITH FULL M.O.T!IT HAS ALL THE EXTRAS AND THE SUPERB AUTO BOX WHICH MAKES IT A PLEASURE TO DRIVE.REASONABLE ON FUEL,CHEAP TO INSURE AND CHEAP TO MAINTAIN SEEING AS I DO MY OWN REPAIRS.ONLY THING IVE HAD TO CHANGE IS THE OVERLOAD RELAY WHICH TOOK ME THREE DAYS TO DETECT AFTER ELIMINATING EVERYTHING ELSE!HIGHLY RECOMMENDED CAR,BUILT LIKE A TANK,RELIABLE CLASSY EXPRESS FOR BANGER MONEY!LONG LIVE THE PANZERWAGON!P.S.FEEL FREE TO EMAIL FOR ADVICE ON SERVICING/MAINTENANCE OR FAULTS OR JUST TO TALK MERCEDES!!!!!
DIAFOLCYMRU.


*****
Owned for 3 months.
http://www24.allpussy.net/

Anthony
Reviewed November 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Have owned 1989 300E with leather Cruise Electric seat etc Very confotable Econmical 25mpg worst avarage 28/30mpg best 34mpg Just had 168000 mile service and still runs like a dream Only item besides normal service items needed replacing in 3 years of ownership has been fog light switch for grand sum of 89pence Heavy on tyres
Have just bought 1992 300E 24v pre cat because above car lacking Air con Bit quicker but not so economical 20mpg 25mpg best Would appriciate comments on mpg as only differance is Air Con and heated seats Was expecting 25mpg to 28/30mpg These are great cars and would recommend anyone to buy one if looking for confortable relax reliable motoring


*****
Owned for 6 months.

Pranil
Reviewed October 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

When buying my first car, I had the option of a brand new 'cheapie' (Conquest/ Citi Golf etc.) or second hand luxury car. I'm glad my dad convinced me to choose the latter. My 1990 W124 230E is a beautiful car which I am proud to drive! My MB trained mechanic swears by this series of Mercs and claims that they are the last "true Mercs". Rock solid, comfortable, reliable, economical and as safe as a fort. A month or so after buying it I was run of the road by a drunk driver and hit a steel barrier @ 90 kph. Didn't feel a thing! I have no hesitation in recomending the W124 Series to anyone looking to buy a quality used car. I've driven late model Fords, Toyotas and VW's and other cars. The 'old man' W124 still looks better, rides better and outclasses them all!! Now looking for a E280 with a sunroof!


*****
Owned for 2 years.

Happy_jon
Reviewed September 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I live in Perth Western Australia and purchased a second-hand 1995 W124 E280 around three months ago. The car is amazing, it has travelled a mere 50,000kms when I purchased it. So far there hasn't been any signs of any major problems. When I bought the vehicle the lock in the boot was broken, I beleive this was due to the after market alarm system being fitted. As a side note Mercedes has an ingenious bootlocking system (since early 1970's) in its vehicles which lets you choose whether or not the boot lock would be engaged as part of the central locking system.

The car vibrates at low speed, but I beleive it is due to the tyres/rims rather than the engine block itself.

Air-Con: For some reason it takes a while for the air system to become cold/room temp. When I turn it on, lukewarm air flows through for a couple of minutes. The heating is pretty good, with summer approaching here, I hope the aircon are like the newer mercs in performance.

Suspension wise: Handling is pretty good. However being one who likes to 'thrash' a car around corners, I would probably upgrade these to more sportier set ups.

I personally feel that the 2.8L engine size is the best compromise for city/highway driving. Having had a W210 E320 Avantguarde, I felt that car's engine was more suited for highway/countr travel than city. Also having had a W201 190E, that little car was pretty good around the city, but lacked the extra oomph in the country for overtaking and climbing hills at high speed (usually at the same time).

With the W124 being one of the best sellers in Mercedes History, spare parts OEM, original, second hand is easy to get on the web, dealers etc.

I paid low $30's for my vehicle and am very happy with it.

Seats are comfortable, room is adequate especially my relatively large frame. Boot space is very spacious.

I am one happy customer. Considering that I was going to buy a Ford Falcon/Holden Vectra, this car still outclasses them all.


*****
Owned for 3 months.



BULBULIA
Reviewed August 2003.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

I own a MB E200 Automatic W124 model 1995 with 90 K miles I have a problem with idle rev counter. It only reaches 4000 rev in neutral any one knows the cause of this problem? Is this [Log in to view email]


-
Owned for 3 years.

simonb
Reviewed July 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Ive just managed to aquire a '93 W124 300E 24 with only 87K and a full MBSH and am amazed by the build quality of this "panzerwagen" however ive one disappointment, at 80MPH its doing just short of 4000rpm.Is this normal for the 4 speed automatic, or should I "kick down" to acelerate to a highr speed and then let it settle back to 80 with fewer revs in a higher gear. i can only assume being a 145 mph car 80 will still be in 3rd?

Does anyone have any experience of fitting an LPG tank in to one of these?


*****
Owned for 1 month.

Eamon
Reviewed July 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Whilst working for a garage I once had chance to drive an E-reg 300 3.0E. What afantastic car. Inow have the opportunity to buy one but need to no the average MPG on motorway speeds buy a previous or current owner ive been told certain figures that range wildly from 30-50mpg. Any one like to let me no what there experience has been??


*****
Never owned

PHIL
Reviewed March 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Just bought an 88 F 300e 4-Matic which is the 4WD version. 15yrs old only done 90,000 miles and ir erally well equipped. It cost about £ 6,000 more than the 300e. It is in excellant condtions and is like new inside and out . Only paid £ 1500 for it, it neede 4 new tyres and an oil change but what a lot of car.


*****
Owned for 1 month.

Martin
Reviewed March 2003.

Performance Reliability
- -
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
- -

Bought an E220 estate with 150k on the clock, 2 months ago. Its a great car, but I have a problem with the handling at motorway speeds, it is tending to weave. Can anyone suggest a cause for this problem!


-
Owned for 1 month.

Showing reviews 1 to 20 of 40.

 

Important Note

All ratings and reviews are submitted by visitors to this web site, and represent their own personal opinion. They do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Preloved.

You use this information at your own risk. Preloved can not be held responsible for any damages or loss resulting from the use of this site. Please see our Terms and Conditions for more details.