Overall

Based upon average ratings provided by 135 members - add your own review

Showing reviews 1 to 20 of 140.

UglyBob
Reviewed April 2013.

Performance Reliability
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money

THE MEAT:
I bought an N reg punto 55s 1.1L (mk1) from a friend in 2011 as my first car for £400. It had 88k on the clock and looked in pretty good condition, The clutch, cam belt and headgasket had been replaced at around 60k so I though it should be good for another few years. Its quite nippy for a 1.1 but does struggle a little at motorway speeds. it handles well and for a small car it's truly cavernous inside. Also because of the small engine it'll regularly return over 35mpg around town. Since I bought it I've had to replace the original starter motor, the alternator and the thermostat, and radiator about a month ago. I also did the brake pads and shoes. I'm no mechanic but the parts where very easy to come by and really quite cheap. although its hasn't been brilliant it's gotten me from Hull to Newquay and back with relative ease on 2 occasions and it gets me the 20 miles too and from work every day without a problem. the only components I've replaced where things which where original, and for an 18year old car its really good. There is very little rust (tiny amounts on one of the wheel arches and under the cills) which considering it hasn't seen the inside of a garage for 6 years is pretty good. The other good thing about this car is that there is no electric windows, no power steering, no air conditioning, no central locking, in fact aside from an engine, and bodywork there is very little too it. The reason I say this is a good thing is that there is so little to go wrong. Anything that does go wrong can be fixed with ease. And if the cam belt does break this engine wont destroy itself like most as there is clearance between the pistons and valves, just make sure you dont boil it dry.

THE VEG: