Advertise here

Ford Focus Review

Ford Focus

Overall Ratings

***** *****
***** *****
Overall
*****

Based upon average ratings provided by 25 members - add your own review

Showing reviews 1 to 20 of 20.


Makembill
Reviewed April 2011.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

My 1.4cl petrol, T reg (1999) Focus was bought around 5 years ago with 56,000 miles on the clock. It now has around 133,000 on the clock. I have had it serviced at every MOT and apart from the regular running repairs, i.e exhaust and starter motor and over the years, it has never let me down. We travel from Devon to Aberdeen regularly and it is sweet to drive. In fact my wife and I argue about who will drive because it's such a nice car. We are now considering a new(er) model and will probably give this one to our daughter as she loves it too. There are lots of excellent Ford breakers around if major parts are required and these can be picked up quite cheaply. For us though, we wouldn't realistically consider anything but a Focus.


Comfort, smooth runner, cheap parts
Boot a bit small,
*****
Reviewing a 1999 model.
Ford Focus 1.4CL, petrol
Owned for 5 years.

Paul
Reviewed May 2010.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I have a 2003 ghia 2.0 petrol. Just under a year old when purchased to replace a RS 2000 Escort. The handling is great (optional 17 wheels) It will do over 130 (In Germany) and driving to Brugge cruising at 80 4 up climate on did 400 miles on a tank. Loads of toys , and very comfortable. No wonder it won a userbilty awards all controls fall to hand. Smaller than wifes Scenic but better quaility seats make it preffered family transport. Starter motor failed but was fixed overnight by dealer. I drive top of the range Audis and BMW`s for work , always a pleasure to get back in the Focus.
New st3 on order but will keep the Ghia.


Handling , Power , equipment
Ford prices , go independant O/e quality
*****
Reviewing a 2003 model.
Focus 2.0 Ghia
Owned for 4 years.

Peregrine
Reviewed May 2010.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

FORD FOCUS ESTATE 1.6 LX (X REG, 2000).

I have owned this car from new, (nearly ten years now), I keep thinking I ought to change it but I love it so much I just keep it. It is the best car I have every owned and I have had a great many in my 66 years. It has never broken down and cost hardly anything in maintenance apart from the usual - 4 tyres, 1 battery, 3 wipers etc. In all its years it has never been in a dealers for servicing. I change the oil and filter at about nine thousand, (recommended 12,500) and did a big service at about 50,000 but that is about it. It has now done 77K miles. It still seems to have the same performance as when new, (although that can be deceiving as one makes allowances as a car ages) and it handles like a sports car; a fast twisty road is a pleasure. It failed it's MOT the last two times once on rusty brake pipes and once on a bush in the rear suspension, neither cost more than 50 pounds to do at my local garage.
I would buy another tomorrow but I don’t need an estate any more so will probably go for the new Fiesta and hope is was built to the same standard as my Focus.


Reliability, space, performance
None
*****
Reviewing a 2000 model.
1.6 LX Estate
Owned for more than 5 years.

jp
Reviewed March 2010.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

had my focus for 18 months now and still happy with it


engine
none
*****
Reviewing a 2001 model.
Owned for 2 years.

nick
Reviewed January 2010.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Difficult to fault my 1992 1.8 Diesel Focus Estate after just reaching 100,000 miles. Bought with 30,000 miles on the clock from one previous owner. Superb and economical engine which uses little if no oil. Excellent road holding and vast luggage capacity when rear seats are down. Seats now feel soggy after so many miles of use. Apart from some water leakage around the windscreen which was promply stopped at my garage - the car has cost little to run.


Superb and economical engine.
Seats are not comfortable on long journeys.
*****
Reviewing a 2002 model.
Ford Focus Estate 5 Door
Owned for more than 5 years.



fordmadmat
Reviewed November 2007.


[enlarge]

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

i've had 2 focus' now the 1st being a w reg i owned for 1year and it never let me down or cost me a penny, the 2nd one i use everyday and have owned for 18months its a 53 plate 1.8lx disc brakes all round, i goes lik F**K when i need it to and I'd never fail to recommend FORD to any body they are fantastic cars between the 2 focus' i had a 02 mondeo which again was fantastic in every way but if i had 1 niggle about the mondeo it wasn't diesel, they out performe the petrol mondeo by a mile, as for the focus, mines a petrol and cant fault it, performance is good etc, BUY ONE TODAY with confidence, infact mines for sale cos i need a mondeo again 2nd baby on the way boot is now too small


reliability excellent, fantastic motors BUY FORD
having to sell it for new baby!!
*****
Never owned

Greyhound
Reviewed August 2007.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Although I haven't yet had the chance to drive a Ford Focus C-MAX (I have a licence but unfortunately no insurance), I am able to comment on the car from the point of view of a passenger.

When stationary, the engine is almost silent, bringing one to wonder all too often if the car has stalled. Its low volume is appreciated but can be unnerving for some drivers!

The first thing that will strike you if you are used to other family cars is the height of the seats and the leg room. Sadly, this comfort is detracted from by the headrests. If you arrive at your destination relaxed in a Mercades and cramped in a Mini, then you arrive with a craned neck in a Ford Focus.

All the headrests are too far forwards so that they push one's head and neck forwards uncomfortably. At least the rear ones can be pushed down - that will solve the problem. Or so I thought. In the down position, the rear headrests get in the way of the average adult's shoulders, pushing them forwards instead. Can you fix it half way? Of course not. That would be too sensible.

Then we come to the problem about the rear sie window pillars. Ford could have positioned them further back, but instead they put them level with the rear passengers' heads. Drive over a bump and if the cars rocks from side to side, you have two passengers with concussion!

Maybe they thought adding a rear light and rear speakers would compensate for this discomfort. Well, they help a little, but not much.

Also, the seat belts are too sensitive and the parcel shelf is too weak to put much on.

On the plus side, it does have under-floor compartments at the back, folding down middle seat, an adequately-sized glove compartment and an additional map compartment on the (rather over-sized) dashboard.

If you like air conditioning, that's great. If you don't then you're going to become really annoyed when you find out that it comes on automatically every time you start the engine.

The radio is good, but I haven't tried out the CD player yet.

The windows at the front are electric (do you really need electric windows? They're so annoying!) and the ones at the back don't go down all the way (they really don't like rear passengers, do they?).

All in all, it gets one from A to B and it is Ford after all, so it is reliable (we hope!).


Spacious, quiet, reliable.
Uncomfortable (especially for the rear passengers), the rear windows don't open all the way, the parcel shelf is too weak to put much on, the seat belts are too sensitive.
*****
Reviewing a 2004 model.
Owned for 1 month.

focus_tdci
Reviewed October 2006.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I OWN A FORD FOCUS 1.8TDCI,AND CAN ONLY SAY A LOVE IT!!!ITS AN O3 DONE 34000 NOT 1 PROB YET AM ONLY 17 AND KICK IT A BIT AND WOULD SAY IT BETTER THAN A LOT OF CARS OUT THERE TURBO IS GOOD JST ORDERED A DUMP VALVE,,IT HAS LOVELY 18'S,TINTS AND SMOKED REAR LIGHTS BLACK CAR AND WHEELS ARE BLACK,LOOK'S SHARP,HANDLE'S WELL,GOE'S WELL,NO PROBLEMS!!!!!!!


*****
Owned for 1 month.

Ghostrider
Reviewed July 2006.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I ended up with a Ford Focus 1.4S for a holiday hire car after my booking for a VW Golf was curtailed by the previous renter crashing the VW the day before it was due to be hired to me.

We took the Ford from Suffolk to Cornwall and I can honestly say that it was one of the worst cars I have ever driven.

If you needed to get up a steep hill, keep it in 1st or you will never make it.
Comfort was not great and the build quality of these cars are a joke - mostly flimsy plastic inside and out.

If you are considering one of these cars (and you would be in need of medical help if you were), don't, in fact, don't buy a Ford.


*****
Never owned

FASTFOCUS
Reviewed March 2006.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Got a 1.8 Zetec . Its a quick car that holds the road very well. I would well recomend it over a Golf or an Astra. Just finished modding mine and now it goes like hell !


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Adverts Currently On Preloved


VAUXHALL ASTRA 5DR DESIGN...


LEATHER CHAIR WITH FOOT STOOL


STUNNING DIAMOND RING


DYSON DC40 ANIMAL UPRIGHT...


VINTAGE ADIDAS MISSY...


BOOTS SIMPLUS PROJECTION...


450 T-REX CLONE


MR CHRISTMAS PANORAMIC...

Place an ad here for free

» More second hand ads...


KevinT
Reviewed March 2005.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

EXCELLENT CAR. had a fiat bravo 1.6 16v before i bought my 1.6 16v zetec 5dr focus. the difference in handling and engine were like night and day! running costs are pretty low too. brakes are alot better than a KA (the other car in the family) but I would have liked discs on the front and back to improve its stopping power just that little bit. have managed to extract 398.8 miles out of a tank of fuel but the norm is about 330. not had a single problem to date and will be keeping this one for a very long time to come.


*****
Owned for 1 year.

garthy boy
Reviewed November 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

very pleased with mine , 1.8 zetec estate . good strong engine reliable , resonable build quaility , i do my own serviceing as its cheaper , i even tow with it too. im pleased.


*****
Never owned

DiscWorld
Reviewed February 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Had a 2000 1.8TDi LX Estate for 3years and 85000 miles. It's never broken down and apart from about 6 sets of tyres and a new battery its been great.
Compared with the Escort it replaced, it is very comfortable and quiet espeacially at higher revs, but does whistle sometimes when you get close to the top-end.
If you can cope with the boring interior I would definately recommend buying one.


*****
Owned for 3 years.

Gareth
Reviewed May 2001.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I bought a 1.6 Zetec 5dr Focus in March
1999 for £11995. I have had no
problems love it to bits. Performance
is good, although not able to compete
with the BIG boys, I am easily able to
match a VW Golf 2.0 GTI!!! The
handling is great, especially on sharp
corners. Brakes are excellent,
although not anti-skid. Zetec engine
is well loosened up after 18000 miles,
and performing better than ever. I
think I'll have this baby for many
years to come! Great car.


*****
Owned for 2 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed March 2004.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

I've owned this car for about 18 months and all was going great until last month (a couple of problems with my Engine Warning light apart). Then with no warning I was parked up outside a shop and had loaded my Focus with furniture but it refused to start on me, engine turned over but wouldn't spark. Extremely embarrassing given masses of people everywhere. The garage have had a few looks since but can't figure it out and last week it conked out again, same prob engine turning over but refusing to fire up. Still no one can figure it out, then this week it has played up really bad, 3 non starts, constant stalling at traffic lights and also the engine started smoking the other day. I am totally reliant on my car for work etc, I feel very let down that a virtually new and well maintained car has basically died on me like this.


*****
Owned for 1 year.



Preloved Visitor
Reviewed November 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Just got Rid of my 2001 Focus 1.6 16v Zetec. Have had no problems, apart from power steering pump failing and needing to be replaced under warranty, and new front discs and pads. Great looking car, excellent to drive, very comfortable. Also, the front left headlight bulb blew 3 times, and Fordd said it needed a new headlight, so i got annoyed and bought hella twin headlights. Look cool, especially with 18" alloys. Have just got a Fiat Stilo to replace it.


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed August 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

the focus is one of the worst cars i have ever driven the 16 is slow and the car feels 'bulky' mine had many problems with the speedo and clocks...simply dont follow everyone else, this car is pap..


*****
Owned for 2 years.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed August 2003.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

i owned a 51 reg focus from new and it is simply the worst car i have ever owned, the car has now been replaced - i had so many problems like failing ecu, cutting out etc - and the franchised dealer i bought it from were the worst !! - having looked around online i am not alone - both in the uk and usa where the car is known as the zx3 - fords suck


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed August 2001.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

Very good car, detracted from only by Fords reluctance to resolve the annoying whistling noise. Apparently its only the diesels - when will they do something about it ?


*****
Owned for 1 year.

Preloved Visitor
Reviewed July 2001.

Performance Reliability
***** *****
Parts Availability Overall Value for Money
***** *****

very good, apart from the tyre noise.
(pirelli P6000) any comments on this?


*****
Owned for 3 months.

Showing reviews 1 to 20 of 20.

 

Important Note

All ratings and reviews are submitted by visitors to this web site, and represent their own personal opinion. They do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Preloved.

You use this information at your own risk. Preloved can not be held responsible for any damages or loss resulting from the use of this site. Please see our Terms and Conditions for more details.